Your browser does not support JavaScript, You should enable JavaScript to use this

2019 Artists

Here is who will be performing at the 2019 You Matter Festival. Be sure to look them up on social media and check out their music.

Jo Mackenzie


Jo MacKenzie is a 15 year old singer/songwriter, and she writes alternative pop music. For the YouMatter performance, she will he joined by drummer and fellow songwriter, Miki P; bassist, Kenzie Pietzsch; and guitarist, Jess Glennon. You can listen to Jo on any streaming platform and follow her on social media @thejomackenzie.






Larsen is an alt-rock band formed by guitarist Sam Kinne and vocalist Jon Kinne with four of their best friends: Tyler Beyer on bass, Matt Chipman on drums, Carson Alexander-Muck on keys, and Luc Heidenreich on guitar. Larsen works hard to put on exceptional live shows and write uplifting and meaningful songs. Everyone is going through something and we want to be here to make sure people know that others care and understand.

 Lauryn Von Ahnen


Lauryn VonAhnen is a 17 year old singer/songwriter from Blue Valley Northwest High School. She’s been playing piano and guitar since elementary school and writing music for her whole life. Her favorite music styles to play are Americana, country, and rock. Lauryn is currently playing at multiple venues around Kansas City.

Matteson Gregory


Matteson Gregory is a singer-songwriter from Missouri. Since the age of twelve she has been writing and playing at local venues in Branson. Between writing and playing she also manages to take trips to Nashville where she writes and records. Matteson released her first single “Comfortable” this past May and is planning on recording this August.

Once in a Blue Moon


Once In A Blue Moon is a heavy hitting pop punk band with influences like Green Day, Boys Of Fall, and Rise Against. Opening for national touring acts such as Hinder, Tilian, and The Ready Set releasing their single "Meant To Be" last fall and their rendition of "Happier" early this year Once In A Blue Moon will be returning to the studio this fall finishing their debut EP "You Matter" promoting mental health and suicide awareness. 

The Whips



Tommy Abrey


 Tommy Abrey is a nineteen-year-old alternative-pop writer and singer based in Nashville, TN. His debut EP, Calvin Cowboy, written and produced all by Abrey and his friend Luke Prost in their dorm room this past fall, is a colorful mesh of contemporary pop and traditional singer-songwriter.

Will Gurley


Will Gurley is a 16-year-old singer/songwriter and alt-rock artist. Will draws inspiration from bands such as Panic! At The Disco, Pink Floyd, and Rush. He plays myriad of instruments including guitar, bass, and drums.


Rap Group

229 is a hip hop collective consisting of Rappers: Hosea2Hollow, Micah James, and Vinny No Knuckles and Producer: Jay Boskie. They started out in 2017 and have a sound that encompasses various styles such as wavy-trap instrumentation to traditional boom bap.

Chase Wilkinson


Chase Wilkinson is a sophomore at Blue Valley Southwest and has high functioning autism. Bullying and exclusion are common issues he endures each day. Chase enjoys playing drums in a local band and performs his beatboxing throughout the KC Metro.